top of page
  • Celeste

I Am Coming Home!


Avant has decided to send me home. Just hang on a minute and let me explain before any rumours get started!

First of all, I am sorry for not posting for such an insufferably long time. So dreadfully much happened since you heard from me last! I will write about it all in detail yet - and hey, I'll have lots of time to tell stories in person too!

Now, this is how it all came about. After Isabelle left on October third, I fell ill both physically and mentally, and was very tired and confused for about a week. I spent a couple nights at the guesthouse to fully recover, and was feeling top notch again by this Thursday (two days ago). I talked with someone who knows about brains and she said that with my previous concussion, it was probably just the stress doing weird stuff to my brain.

The Neufelds came up to Santa Cruz on Thursday. I was still at the guesthouse, so I spent the afternoon with them. During that time they heard from the regional director at Avant, and in the evening they told me very graciously that the decision had been made to send me home, for several reasons. They were concerned about my health and did not want it to happen again. They also couldn't use me in Santa Cruz anymore because of needing to simplify the Derksens life, and the Neufelds were going to be off school for a while anyway too, because they had guests. So the reason I am coming home is because of my health and I had nothing to do.

I was devastated (still am). The news came as such as shock, and I found it hard to switch gears. I had wanted to have more time to look forward to coming home! I had so many plans of what I was going to teach the kids! But I had to respect the mission's decision. And now, when I think about it, I am thrilled to be home for fall (or winter, I guess) after all, and I am very excited to see my family and Sonnet again, and do the home things.

I fly tonight at 2 in the morning, am in transit all day Sunday, and touch down in Winnipeg shortly after 11 that night. I will be back in the country in no time!

Let me indulge myself in listing the things I never got to do after all.

I never got to experience mango season.

I still haven't gotten my moto ride. Next mission trip, maybe.

I didn't get a picture of a Mennonite.

I always missed the iguanas.

I was looking forward to a hot Christmas.

I never found out if those fruits were starfruit or not.

I never went to Campo Leon after all.

Ah, well. I'll just have to come back sometime.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page