top of page
  • Writer's pictureCeleste

1,000 Hills

I had a delightful English experience today. It had a backstory, which is this:


 - We watched The Imitation Game Sunday night, in which a character says that in his mind, talking is just like encrypted code (people never say what they mean).


- In school with my Nanny kids I get them to narrate a verse of Job each. (“Okay, he said, 'Are you the first man who was born?’, but what did he mean?")



This morning I wrote this quote on the fridge at my Nanny home:


“God still owns the cattle on 1,000 hills. And the harvest is still plentiful. And the labourers are still few.”


    “What does it say?” my little reader asked. 

    “You can read it,” I encouraged. She worked through it. “Do you know what it means?” I asked. As I explained it to her I realized it had three layers.


1. What it says. Hills, Harvest, Labourers. She got that.

2. What it means. (God is rich. Lots of people still need to get saved. Not enough people are working on it.) I get that.

3. What it is saying. (Never mind getting a job. Go be a missionary!) 



Do you get it?


Recent Posts

See All

Right now I'm...

Hey. I love you and wish to update you about my latest adventures in obedience. Consider this a personal email. We’ve Moved! The family I...

Joy is Real

In the second last Screwtape Letter C.S. Lewis imagines Wormwood getting the man to think that trauma, sorrow, and disaster are real. To...

God Hears

I skimmed a book called "How many times do I have to tell you?" once. Her premise: The things we say to our kids are the things God wants...

Comments


bottom of page