top of page
  • Writer's pictureCeleste

Joy is Real

In the second last Screwtape Letter C.S. Lewis imagines Wormwood getting the man to think that trauma, sorrow, and disaster are real. To think that all the joy he felt in times of peace was just a feeling. That when the rubber met the road, joy is a feeling but anguish is real.


These are lies.


Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.


At God’s right hand are pleasures forevermore.


God created the world perfect and happy. One day He will restore it to perfect happiness. Sorrow is just a blip, a parentheses in the tale of history.


Joy is what is real.


1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1,000 Hills

I had a delightful English experience today. It had a backstory, which is this:  - We watched The Imitation Game  Sunday night, in which...

Right now I'm...

Hey. I love you and wish to update you about my latest adventures in obedience. Consider this a personal email. We’ve Moved! The family I...

God Hears

I skimmed a book called "How many times do I have to tell you?" once. Her premise: The things we say to our kids are the things God wants...

1 Comment


C D Lawrenson
C D Lawrenson
Jun 01

This is concise, and all the more thought provoking.

Like
bottom of page