top of page
  • Celeste

A Thought


This is an experiment of sorts that I did several years ago: I wrote down all the little phrases or tunes that ran through my head; the things that I would say under my breath while working alone or in a loud place - what results is what a typical day alone with my head might be like, minus the trains of thought. Enjoy or shake your head, however you feel inclined.

When we drove to Victory Bible Camp we listened to the Debaters debate if a meal is complete without meat on the radio.

“Well, it seems to me our lives are about to be destroyed anyway.”

“Shara! Shara!”

“Good for you. That sounds great.”

“I think we should go west. All in favour say 'Aye'.”

“Non. Je n suis pas medecin.”

U-n-d-o-u-b-t-e-d-l-y

Inevitably

'Ignite the fire'

“I don't want you posting anything about our family.”

Cinnamon

3x + 2y = 77.8

“Ahh Songi, Songi, Songi! Woogi Woogi Wongi!”

“Je m'appelle Pei Chi Yu”

Lizzerlibelle

Calista

“Please don't call me that.”

“Go-od save the Queen!”

“Abducted as a child, Trained as an assassin, all she wants to be is a mother.”

“ 'Everything has a price tag, but you don't realize what some of us have to pay.' I said, 'Where did he go? My country's halo.' ”

“When the stars threw down their spears, and watered heaven with their tears, did He smile His work to see? Did he who made the lamb make thee?”

Typing 'eople'

“Nothing compares to my long, long, nose!”

“Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?”

“Little lamb, who made thee? Dost thou know who made thee?”

“...and straightaway loved an ass!”

“You're a child of the Ki-i-ing... The creator of dre-e-eams... And your faith is the ke-e-ey... Open the door and then you'll see...”

“It was the lonely hour of fifteen.”

“...where The Cheesecake Factory gets it's stainless steel counter tops.”

Zelda

Ged-la-dan

Santil-ke Erketlis

'General Erketlis'

A Hamburger Accident! (Snort)

“Well, I'm assuming you want me to have some clothes on.”

“Opa don't got what we got.”

“Jesus will come again, for those who don't know when...”

Ambidextrous

Isaac and Maria Goertzen

“Je me brosse les dents avec une brosse a dents.”

Quarante et un

“We're out to get you!”

“...this is a wild stallion. That means you can't pay to ride it.”

“Lest any should suppose that I set my wits to work to invent the cruelties of Genshed, I say here that all lie within my knowledge, and some, would they did not, within my experience.”

Mrs. Barbara Cheeseman

“They had a family resemblance; if you were to line them all up you could say they had each other's nose, and so on.”

“Oh, come with me now!”

“I don't care!”

“Did you love me again?”

“Who is your leader?”

Parapluie

“If I have been able to see so far, it is because I am standing on the shoulders of giants...”

“Crush the shoulders of the giants on which you stand!”

Who’s Jackie Hubbs?

“Justice is getting what you deserve; Mercy is not getting what you deserve; Grace is getting what you don't deserve.”

“That mourns in lonely e-exile here... Until the son of Go-o-od appear... Rejoice! Rejoice! Imma-a-anuel...”

“My luve is like a red, red rose”

P-a-g-g-a-n-i-n-i

P-a-g-a-n-i-n-i

Bright robin's egg blue

If music be the food of love, play on

“What's all this red juice?”

“Think life's green well worth it's rose!”

Andrea Retuski

“Let the storm rage on... The cold never bothered me an-y way”

Crunch Time

Samantha

It's better to pull bacon apart while it’s still somewhat frozen

Syncopate

“The toys come alive at night, you know.”

“...pretty robe...”

“The sharp cold.”

“Oh, good morning, Laban.”

“N-H-L. Scores! Marty Saint-Louis!”

its

“Parallel parked my Dad's car just fine!”

“OK, OK, OK. I'll do that.”

Phospholipids

Meegan Laurier

“Just a babe... Just a girl...”

Five Stanley Cups!

Recent Posts

See All

Candid Observations

In which I extract some passages from my various notebooks of the last few months and lay them at your feet. January 13, 2021 There is...

The Rats

Disclaimer: I wrote this short story after us cousins and the Uncles killed 98 of the rats in my Opa's bale stack one Chirstmas some...

bottom of page