top of page
  • Writer's pictureCeleste

God Hears

I skimmed a book called "How many times do I have to tell you?" once. Her premise: The things we say to our kids are the things God wants to say to us.


I've actually said this to my kids. "How many times do I have to tell you not to open a closed bathroom door without knocking?" I say. I said it the first time, too. It's the kind of situation where you find yourself ranting.


But most of the time I try to say things that are calm, succinct, and memorable. When I remembered that God was my Father, wanting to say the same things to me, I began to write some of them down. Imagine me saying these to my kids, and God saying them to you.


"We don't make messes and walk away from them."


"We don't chew on things that aren't food."


"Have you listened to yourself?"


"When you're obeying, you're not doing anything else."


"Just wait, and don't ask questions. I'm still working on something else."


"Thank you for telling me it's hurting."


"Come sit by me."


"Why are you so quiet all of a sudden?"


"When there's a car coming, don't pull against my hand."


"Quit trying to explain and just listen."


"We don't walk away until the job is done."


"Don't distract yourself."


"Say 'Okay' and obey."


"Don't even look at things that aren't yours."


"It's all part of the treat."


"You are not the policeman in this house."





1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Fisher Bay 2023

Enjoy an excerpt from a letter to a friend about my Summer. Dear Friend, Monday, Aug. 28th, 2023 It's been a hot

Bronze Mirror

When did you last look in a mirror? How would you feel without access to one? An intriguing item is recorded in Exodus 38:8. It says Bezalel made the laver for the tabernacle from bronze mirrors. Did

bottom of page